Boxing Title Bouts Archive - September 2014

Denis Lebedev vs. Pawel Kolodziej
Denis Lebedev of Russia successfully defended his WBA cruiserweight title when he knocked out in 2nd round Pawel Kolodziej of Poland in Moscow, Russia.
Grigory Drozd vs. Krzysztof Wlodarczyk
Grigory Drozd took the WBC cruiserweight title from Krzysztof Wlodarczyk in Moscow, Russia, outworking and generally outclassing him over the course of 12 rounds.
Arthur Abraham vs. Paul Smith
Arthur Abraham retained his WBO super middleweight champion belt by defeating Paul Smith of England by unanimous decision in Kiel, Germany.
Javier Mendoza vs. Ramon Garcia Hirales
Javier Mendoza defeated Ramon Garcia Hirales in a unanimous decision with two knock downs in 5th and 10th rounds to capture the vacant IBF junior flyweight title.
Richar Abril vs. Edis Tatli
Richar Abril of Cuba retained his WBA lightweight title with a majority decision against hometown boxer Edis Tatli in Helsinki, Finland.
Carlos Cuadras vs. Jose Salgado
Carlos Cuadras retained his WBC super flyweight title when his defence against Jose Salgado ended in a technical draw after four rounds. Salgado suffered a bad cut to the eyelid after a clash of heads.
Orlando Salido vs. Terdsak Kokietgym
Orlando Salido knocked out Terdsak Kokietgym with a vicious combination in the 11th round of a veritable battle in which both fighters were knocked down several times to win interim WBO junior lightweight title in Tijuana, Mexico.
Omar Andres Narvaez vs. Felipe Orucuta
Omar Andres Narvaez of Argentina won a split decision over Felipe Orucuta of Mexico to hold onto his WBO junior bantamweight title.
Scott Quigg vs. Stephane Jamoye
Scott Quigg stopped Belgium's Stephane Jamoye in the third round in Manchester to retain his WBA super bantamweight title and remain on course for a unification bout against Northern Ireland's Carl Frampton.
Mickey Bey vs. Miguel Vazquez
Mickey Bey defeated longtime lightweight champ Miguel Vazquez by a split decision to take Vazquez’s IBF lightweight title in Las Vegas, USA.
Floyd Mayweather vs. Marcos Rene Maidana
Undefeated five-division champion Floyd Mayweather Jr claimed a unanimous decision in a feisty encounter against Marcos Maidana to successfully defend his three world titles - super WBA welterweight, WBC welterweight and super welterweight titles and improve his record to 47-0 in Las Vegas, USA.
Leo Santa Cruz vs. Manuel Roman
WBC super bantamweight world champ Leo Santa Cruz retained his belt with ease as he blasted out Manuel Roman with a single right hand in the second round at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, USA.
Jesus Marcelo Andres Cuellar vs. Juan Manuel Lopez
Jesus Marcelo Andres Cuellar likely ended the career of former two division world champion Juan Manuel Lopez with a brutal second round knockout to retain the WBA interim featherweight championship.
Luis Ortiz vs. Lateef Kayode
In a bout for the vacant WBA interim heavyweight title, Luis Ortiz of Cuba stopped previously undefeated Lateef Kayode from Nigeria in the first round.
Amnat Ruenroeng vs.McWilliams Arroyo
Amnat Ruenroeng successfully defended his IBF flyweight title with a hard-fought split decision over McWilliams Arroyo in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand.
Carl Frampton vs. Kiko Martinez
Carl Frampton won the IBF junior featherweight belt from Kiko Martinez of Spain by unanimous decision before an ecstatic home crowd of 16,000 in a purpose-built outdoor arena in the Titanic Quarter, Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Juan Francisco Estrada vs. Giovani Segura
Unified flyweight champion Juan Francisco Estrada scored an 11th round TKO over former champ Giovani Segura in Mexico City and retained his super WBA and WBO titles.
Roman Gonzalez vs. Akira Yaegashi
Roman Gonzalez of Nicaragua captured the WBC flyweight title when he beat Akira Yaegashi of Japan by technical knockout in the ninth round in Tokyo, Japan.
Naoya Inoue vs. Samartlek Kokietgym
Naoya Inoue knocked down Samartlek Kokietgym in the 4th and 6th round and finally referee stopped the bout at 1:08 in the 11th round by TKO. Inoue retained his WBC light flyweight title.