Boxing Title Bouts Archive - May 2016

Tony Bellew vs. Ilunga Makabu
Tony Bellew turned a Hollywood fantasy into reality by becoming a world champion for the first time. The 33-year-old Bellew recovered from being sent to the canvas in the first round by knocking out Ilunga Makabu in the third round to win the WBC cruiserweight title.
Donnie Nietes vs. Raul Garcia
Donnie Nietes, the longest reigning Filipino world champion kept his conquest of Mexicans going with a scintillating performance against former two-division world champion Raul Garcia, Nietes won the WBO light flyweight title in Bacolod City, Philippines.
Ricky Burns vs. Michele Di Rocco
Ricky Burns has become a three-weight world champion after a dominant eighth-round stoppage against Michele Di Rocco in the fight for vacant WBA super lightweight title in Glasgow, United Kingdom.
David Avanesyan vs. Shane Mosley
David Avanesyan retained his WBA interim welterweight title in Glendale, USA. He scored a unanimous-decision victory over Shane Mosley in a hard-fought bout.
Johnriel Casimero vs. Amnat Ruenroeng
Johnriel Casimero stopped Amnat Ruenroeng of Thailand to snatch the IBF flyweight title at Diamond Court in Beijing, China.
Jermell Charlo vs. John Jackson
Jermell Charlo scored an eighth-round knockout victory against John Jackson to win the vacant WBC super welterweight title at the Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas, USA.
Dmitry Bivol vs. Felix Valera
Dmitry Bivol captured interim WBA light heavyweight title with a unanimous decision over Felix Valera in Moscow, Russia.
Beibut Shumenov vs. Junior Anthony Wright
WBA interim champion Beibut Shumenov scored a 10th round TKO win over Junior Anthony Wright to capture vacant WBA cruiserweight title in Las Vegas, USA.
Erislandy Lara vs. Vanes Martirosyan
Erislandy Lara earned a unanimous decision win over Vanes Martirosyan to retain his WBA super welterweight title in Las Vegas, USA.
Jermall Charlo vs. Austin Trout
Jermall Charlo retained his IBF junior middleweight title with a close win over Austin Trout in Las Vegas, USA.
Denis Lebedev vs. Victor Emilio Ramirez
Russia's Denis Lebedev stopped Argentina's Victor Emilio Ramirez in the second round to unify the WBA and IBF cruiserweight titles in Moscow, Russia.
Yunier Dorticos vs. Youri Kayembre Kalenga
In a spectacular fight, unbeaten cruiserweight Yunier Dorticos scored a tenth round TKO over Youri Kayembre Kalenga to claim the WBA interim world title at the Palais des Sports in Paris, France.
Lee Haskins vs. Ivan Morales
Britain's Lee Haskins successfully defended his IBF world bantamweight title with a unanimous points victory over Mexico's Ivan Morales in Cardiff, United Kingdom.
Naoya Inoue vs. David Carmona
In a fight that was a lot tougher than the scores handed down by the judges, undefeated WBO super flyweight champion Naoya Inoue had to struggle to defeat #1 WBO challenger David Carmona by a 12 round unanimous decision in Tokyo, Japan.
Akira Yaegashi vs. Martin Tecuapetla
Akira Yaegashi retained his IBF junior flyweight title in fight against Martin Tecuapetla in Tokyo, Japan.
Anthony Crolla vs. Ismael Barroso
Anthony Crolla made a successful first defense of his WBA lightweight title, stopping Ismael Barroso in Manchester, United Kingdom.
Saul Alvarez vs. Amir Khan
Saul Alvarez landed a devastating right hook to knock out Amir Khan in the sixth round and claim the WBC middleweight title clash in Las Vegas, USA.